The People Behind the Ship

How it Started

When talked to about Larry most fans are filled with joy, they find much pride and happiness in being a part of this huge epidemic. Junior Mackenzie Dell can relate to this feeling. Many Larry shippers have been part of this so called “family” since 2010, when One Direction formed. “I started shipping Larry 6 months to 1 year after I got into One Direction, so I would say late 2013.” said Dell. Many fans did not start shipping Larry right away they still are as big of shippers of the other fans who has been there since they started. When asked about Larry, Dell often rants on how much they mean to her and how much they largely affected her life. “They were what my life revolved around for the better part of three years, I based most of my life decisions on Larry.” Dell said.

Fan Art

Most fans tend to lean on creating their own fan art based on Larry. Whether it is photoshopping, drawing or other forms the fans find much joy in expressing themselves in this way. “I like to draw and when I go to doddle the first thing that pops into my mind is Larry, and that inspires me to put my feelings on the paper in the form of art.” Dell said.

screen-shot-2016-10-17-at-9-45-40-pm

A doodle Dell completed inspired by a One Direction song

screen-shot-2016-10-17-at-9-45-53-pm

Dell’s unfinished Larry artwork

The Joy of Larry

When the smallest things happen between Louis and Harry, the Larries freakout. The Larry shippers take whatever they can get when it comes to Larry. One of the most favored Larry Moments is a fan had them hold hands during a meet and greet. “Larry holding hands was the first really big moment in a while it is was as if it was restoring hope in all of us.” Dell said.

screen-shot-2016-10-17-at-10-07-55-pm

The picture on Dell’s ceiling right above where she sleeps

Another favorite moment of fans is the famous onstage hug. Many fans are obsessed with this moment because, “it was when One Directions hiatus was beginning and it was the last moment for a while, and it was huge for Larry.” Dell said.

larry_stylinson_romance

The Larry hug at the beginning of their hiatus

The Following

Pretty much all of the Larry fans are also fans of One Direction, dedicating their lives to this band of boys. They are extremely happy when an album is dropped, and cry tears of joy when they find out they are going to a concert. “I got really excited and almost started jumping in joy when I found out.” Dell said, “I was really excited and usually something goes wrong when I’m excited but this time everything worked out. It seemed unreal.”

screen-shot-2016-10-17-at-10-35-55-pm

The shirt Dell got at her Santa Clara One Direction Concert on July 11th, 2015

word count: 468 words

Leave a comment